What I wouldn’t give for an unobtrusive skyline.

So I’ve been thinking a lot about location lately, and have come to discover that what I really want doesn’t seem to exist in RL. I love the city, the hustle and bustle and constant action. But I also love nature with it’s open sky and fresh scent. If only there were a way to combine the two without compromising the other. What really sparked my thought on the matter was my most recent photography assignment. We we told to go out and photograph the night sky….here’s the problem: I live in a city which always has a constant glow of light around it, so therefore I can’t ever see any stars. Now I’m not a huge astronomy nerd, but I do admit that I get a tingly feeling whenever I peer up into the velvety night, recognize a constellation and know exactly where I am. It’s a very humbling experience, knowing how incredibly small you are in this vast universe. Another thing I miss greatly about being back home in the country is the sunsets. I wouldn’t exactly call myself a romantic at heart, but as an artist I’ve always appreciated a really good sunset. Although trying to capture one in a painting (as I’ve found) is a lot harder than it seems. A photograph is good enough for me, and so here is a little sampling of the sky I so desperately miss.

Image

Words of Response

